Inspectioneering
January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal
Date January/February 2003
Volume  9
Issue 1
Return to Journal Index
Subscribe Today for Full Access

January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal Article Index


  • January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal
    By John Reynolds at Intertek

    I already mentioned this common affliction in the introduction. Caustic cracking was long called caustic embrittlement, but since no embrittlement actually occurs that name is fading away.

  • January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal
    By John Reynolds at Intertek

    Now you say, he's got to be putting me on. What is green rot? I didn't invent it. I first read about it in one of the early texts on corrosion engineering by Ughlig or Fontana, the venerable corrosion professors at MIT & Ohio State. But when I experienced it, it became very real, even though I've only seen it once in my 35-year career.

  • January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal
    By John Reynolds at Intertek

    Another affliction that is becoming more common as we start to get more and more of our components from developing countries, is that high carbon contents and high micro-alloy contents will make some components relatively unweldable under normal circumstances.

  • January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal
    By John Reynolds at Intertek

    This failure mechanism is unfortunately all too common in our industry. It's also known as stress rupture, and it is usually entirely preventable by proper maintenance and operating procedures. It occurs when equipment, piping or furnace tubes that are designed to operate safely and reliably in one temperature range are suddenly (and sometimes not so suddenly) exposed to higher temperatures.

  • January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal
    By Kelley Jones at Pro-Inspect Inc.

    We have discussed most of the pre-turnaround planning details. We are ready for the next step. The cost for the Turnaround is normally the most important item right behind SAFETY. In many cases the salary, per diem and travel costs have been part of early discussions with the client. Now it is time to examine these inspector costs in-depth. What affects these costs? How can we increase our efficiency in this area?

  • Proposed API In-Line Inspection System Qualification Standard 1163
    January/February 2003 Inspectioneering Journal

    A meeting of the API Pipeline In-Line Inspection Standards Group was held in Houston, Texas on October 17, 2002. The following is an excerpt from the Draft Scope of the Standard in the working dated, May 13, 2002.


Inspectioneering Journal

Explore over 20 years of articles written by our team of subject matter experts.

Company Directory

Find relevant products, services, and technologies.

Job Postings

Discover job opportunities that match your skillset.

Case Studies

Learn from the experience of others in the industry.

Event Calendar

Find upcoming conferences, training sessions, online events, and more.

Industry News

Stay up-to-date with the latest inspection and asset integrity management news.

Blog

Read short articles and insights authored by industry experts.

Acronyms

Commonly used asset integrity management and inspection acronyms.

Asset Intelligence Reports

Download brief primers on various asset integrity management topics.

Videos

Watch educational and informative videos directly related to your profession.

Expert Interviews

Inspectioneering's archive of interviews with industry subject matter experts.